Doyoubi, Yuzuranai Watashi (The Saturday I Won’t Give Up)

This is one of the cute songs by Fujita Maiko and I just adore the way the song has made me imagine the scenario it was depicting. I am sure that even among the Fujita Maiko fans, it is not one of the famous ones so I would like everyone to try and listen to it and imagine the things the song is saying. I tried my best to translate it to English so I hope you can enjoy it. ^^

doyoubi no machi
toriaezu machiawase shita kedo
kinou kara no kenka ga
kyou mo mada kusubutteru

A Saturday in town
and we have arranged a date but
I am still angry
from our fight yesterday

te wo tsunaide kuretara
sunao ni hanaseru no ni
dondon saki ni icchau shi
hippatte mo ichido
mite mata aruite iku

If you just hold my hand
I would honestly talk with you
but you just go ahead and walk fastly
and even if I once oulled you
you just look back and then walk ahead

atama ni kite houkou wo kaete
haitta BIRU no ESUKAREETAA
hitori agari nikai no benchi ni
suwattemo ugokanai

I got pissed and changed my direction
I rode the escalator of the buildingf we entered
and I went up to the second floor alone.
I sat at the bench, and I won’t budge.

nanakai made aru FUROA
ugoitara deaenai
ugokanakutemo kekkyoku
kimi ga konai to deaenai
sugiteiku dake no
hontou muda na jikan

The building has seven floors
if I move from here, we won’t be able to meet
but if I don’t move
and you don’t come to me, we would also not meet
And time would only pass
being a total waste

kimi ga iisou na koto wa
mou yosou ga tsuku yo
“Katte ni hanareta kuse ni
nande mukae ni ikana kya
ikenain da yo” desho

I have already thought of
what you might say
it is “You were the one who went away
so why do I have to be the one
to come and get you” right?

itsumo kimi wa
sono toori sugite
yume ga nai koto shika iwanai
kitzuite hoshii onnaw gokoro
mattaku wakattenai no

You always react
the way I expect
and always say blunt things
How I wish you could understand a woman’s heart
but you just don’t get it

doushite oikakete
kitekurenai no
watashi kara te wo hanasou ga
ushiro ni arukou ga soko ni wa saa
suki nara oikakete
kite hoshiin da yo

why are you not
chasing after me?
when I let go of your hand or
when I start walking behind you,
it means that If you love me
I want you to chase after me

ano toki wa mada deatta
bakara datta kedo
sono hitomi no oku ni suikomarete
kono hito da tte omotta no
machigatteta no kana
watashi akirametakunai
dakara zettai ni ugokanai

During that time
when we have just met
I felt like I being sucked in to your eyes
and I thought that it You are the one.
Now I’m wondering if I was wrong
But I don’t want to give up yet
That’s why I will definitely not move.

kabe ni motarete futekusarete
ashimoto wo mitetara
watashi no mae ni tachidomatta
tatta hitori no hito

I leaned against the wall sulking
and when I looked at my feet
there was ONE person
standing in front of me

Kitekureta no mou hanarenai
futari no naka naori no hazu ga
are mada okotteru no
kao ni deteru yo
hontou ni kimi wa muzukashii hito
omoi doori ni wa ikanai no ni
kimi janakya
dame na no wa doushite darou

Since you came for me, I won’t let go anymore
But for our supoposedly happy reunion
You are still angry
It’s written in your face.
You really are a complicated person
Because you don’t act the way I expected
And I wonder why
It’s no good if it is not you.

doyoubi wa kore kara
hayaku kigen naoshite
doyoubi wa kore kara
aa waratte kureta

Saturday is from here on
So go and brighten up your mood
Our Saturday is just beginning
Aa, you just smiled ^^

Leave a comment